Westshore Council of Governments

In 1971, the Westshore Council of Governments was established by the cities of:

  • Bay Village
  • Fairview Park
  • Lakewood
  • North Olmsted
  • Rocky River
  • Westlake

The Council was created to foster cooperation between municipalities in all areas of municipal service. This shall include but shall not be limited to the effective exchange of information, pooling of manpower and resources for the efficient solutions of specific problems dealing with reciprocal services, mutual aid, and parallel action, and the exchange of ideas relating to area wide interest.

Collaborative Projects & Programs

The Westshore Council Mayors receive the Taxpayer Hero award from OH Auditor of StateThe Westshore Council of Governments has a long history of collaborating to increase efficiency by successfully implementing numerous projects and programs.

Central Dispatch

Westshore Central Dispatch opened in 2006 providing more efficient and effective response by merging Fire and EMS dispatch for five communities including:

  • Bay Village
  • Fairview Park
  • North Ridgeville in Lorain County
  • Rocky River
  • Westlake

Regional Special Response Teams

Member communities have consistently built on past successes by jointly sharing regional Special Response Teams:

  • Bomb Squad
  • Hazmat
  • Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT)
  • Technical Rescue Teams
  • The Westshore Enforcement Bureau (WEB), a regional vice and narcotics division

Waste Water Treatment

The Rocky River Waste Water Treatment Facility is also co-owned and operated by the cities of:

  • Rocky River
  • Bay Village
  • Westlake
  • Fairview Park

Regular Meetings

The chair and meeting host of the Westshore Council of Governments rotates each year. Bay Village was the host and chair in 2020. All meetings of the Westshore Council of Governments are open to the public. 


  • Pamela Bobst, Mayor of Rocky River
  • Dennis Clough, Mayor of Westlake
  • Patrick Cooney, Mayor of Fairview Park
  • Meghan George, Mayor of Lakewood
  • Kevin Kennedy, Mayor of North Olmsted
  • Paul Koomar, Mayor of Bay Village