Community Council

The Bay Village Community Council is where Bay's civic groups come together. Representatives from clubs, service groups and nonprofit organizations meet 4-5 times a year to discuss upcoming events and initiatives, share ideas and look for collaboration opportunities.

Dues are $20 per year and membership is open to all civic organizations in Bay Village.

The next meeting of the Bay Village Community Council will be Wednesday, January 24, 2018 at 7 pm in the Bay Village Library, 502 Cahoon Rd.

For more information, contact one of the Council's officers:
President, Tara Wendell,
Vice President, Jessica Breslin,
Secretary, Mary Kay Wilson,
Treasurer, Therese Koomar,


Since 1976, the Community Council has awarded the annual designation of Citizen of the Year. Nominations are accepted from community members on behalf of Bay Village residents that have provided significant community service without monetary reward. Nominations are due in January. Please click here for a Citizen of the Year nomination form.

Although not an annual designation, special projects are considered for Project of the Year based on community impact and the involvement of volunteers and organizations. Nominations are due in January. Click here for a Project of the Year nomination form.

Deadline for submitting applications for Citizen and Project of the Year for 2018 is January 22, 2018.


2017 Citizen of the Year: Evelyn Allen

2017 Project of the Year: Play in Bay Renovation Project

Past Citizen of the Year honorees:
Jeff Hartz, Eric & Cynthia Eakin, Doris Gorgas, Andrea Sheppa, Barb Harrell, Lawrence Kuh, Rhonda Schneider, Peter Winzig, Dwight Clark, Kelsey Brax, Louella Meyer, Janet Zvara, Leslie Croyle, Anton "Tony" Dostal, Doyle Garrett, Helena Walsh, John & Dolores Hartz, Pamela Ebert, Mary Ellen Meyers, Janet Sondles, Jim Potter, George Serb, Ellen Screwvala, Maxine McQuate, Mary Ann Lyons, Maria Parks, Ursula Cohrs, Robert Davis, Margaret Hill, John Brant, Marguerite Drake, Lois Maus, Doug Dieken, John Solomon, Patricia Bremer, Mabel Throgmartin, Marilyn Groff, Ervin Christen, Ned Beach.

Past Project of the Year winners:
BAYarts Ceramics Studio, Bay Days Fireworks Fund, Village Bicycle Cooperative, Village Food Project, Fuller House Renovation, Bay Village Bicentennial Celebration, Bike to School Challenge, Welcome to Bay Signs, Osborn Learning Center, Lose the Training Wheels, Westerly Walking Club, "Seascape" sculpture, Bay Village Directory, Bay Village Website, Bay Youth Center, Play in Bay.